A very important part of
using a plan is closing it. That is,
notifying the person holding your plan that:
Your trip has ended.
You and your passengers/crew have
safely returned back home.
The holder may delete your float
circumstances, you (the preparer) are
responsible for closing your plan.
However, if a Search and
Rescue has taken place as a result of you not
checking-in or returning as planned, your Float
Plan will be closed by the rescuing agency when
the mission has concluded.
not closing your plan
What can happen if you
don't close your plan? A lot!
Failure to close a plan
promptly may result in a needless application of
search and rescue resources, since the Holder of
the plan is expected to follow through on what
they would perceive as you not checking-in or
returning as planned.
It is paramount then,
that you make closing your plan the very first
thing you do when you return home.